pet friendly hotels that allow large dogs no fee
Travelling with a large dog shouldn’t mean choosing between a comfortable hotel and an unexpected £25-a-night surprise on your bill. Across the UK, a growing number of hotels — from countryside coaching inns to city-centre chains — now welcome big dogs without charging a nightly fee, provided you know where to look and what questions to ask before you book.
The catch is that “pet-friendly” and “no fee” don’t always mean the same thing. Some hotels waive the fee but cap weight well below what most people would call a large dog. Others charge a refundable deposit instead of a fee, which can feel the same at checkout but works very differently if your dog behaves. This guide breaks down exactly how UK hotels price, size-limit, and manage large-dog stays, and names specific properties with source-checked policy details rather than generic marketing copy.
The single most important distinction in this guide: a £0 pet fee does not automatically mean £0 deposit or £0 liability. UK hotels mix and match three separate things:
- Pet fee — a charge, refundable or not, simply for bringing your dog.
- Damage deposit — separate from any pet fee, held against damage and returned if there’s none.
- Damage liability — even where both fee and deposit are £0, you can still be billed afterwards for genuine damage or excessive cleaning.
A hotel advertised as “dogs stay free” can still invoice you for a chewed cushion. Check a specific hotel’s position on all three before assuming a stay is genuinely cost-free.
Quick Answer: Yes — a number of UK hotels, including independent country properties, pubs-with-rooms, and select chain hotels, allow large dogs (roughly 18kg+) with no nightly pet fee. Many still apply a refundable damage deposit of £10–£50, and house rules around furniture and unattended dogs are close to universal. See the source-checked hotel table below for specific examples rather than a general claim.
Key Takeaways
- “No fee,” “no deposit,” and “no damage liability” are three different things — confirm all three before booking, not just whether a fee is charged.
- Among the properties checked for this guide, weight limits for free or low-cost stays most often fell between 18kg and 30kg — this reflects the sample reviewed, not a full market survey, so always confirm with the property.
- Breed-specific restrictions were uncommon in the properties reviewed, but very few UK hotels publish a breed policy in writing either way — you have to ask.
- Dog-free areas (restaurants, spas, some lounges) were common across the properties reviewed.
- A phone call or email confirming your dog’s exact weight and breed before arrival avoids the most common check-in disappointments.
In this guide: What counts as a large dog · How UK pet fees actually work · UK hotels checked for this guide, with sources · Dog-free areas and house rules · Number of dogs, age and behaviour rules · Deposits, cleaning charges and cancellations · Comparison table · Booking checklist · FAQs
What Counts as a “Large Dog” at a UK Hotel?
There’s no official UK hotel-industry classification for dog size — the brackets below are a planning tool for this guide, built from the weight limits that individual properties happened to publish, not an industry standard. UK hotels rarely use breed to define “large”; when they do publish a cutoff, it’s almost always by weight. For planning purposes, three brackets show up repeatedly in the properties reviewed:
- Medium: up to roughly 10–18kg (Cocker Spaniels, Beagles, Border Collies)
- Large: roughly 18–30kg (Labradors, Golden Retrievers, Boxers, German Shepherds)
- Extra-large/giant: 30kg+ (Great Danes, Newfoundlands, Mastiffs, Bernese Mountain Dogs)
Most “no fee, large dogs welcome” claims found in this research applied at or below the top of the large bracket (up to ~30kg). Giant-breed owners should always confirm directly — several properties that advertise as dog-friendly still ask giant breeds to book ground-floor or specific “dog rooms” for practical reasons like door widths and furniture weight limits, not fee reasons.
Pet Care Tip: Weigh your dog before you travel and keep a note (or a vet printout) on your phone. Front desk staff sometimes estimate weight by eye, and having a real number avoids an awkward reclassification at check-in.
How UK Hotel Pet Fees Actually Work
There isn’t one industry standard — UK hotels tend to fall into four pricing models:
- Genuinely free — no fee, no deposit, dog stays as a guest. Most common at independent country hotels and pub-with-rooms properties that see dogs as part of their brand identity.
- Refundable deposit — typically £25–£50, returned at checkout if there’s no damage. This is often marketed loosely as “pet friendly” even though money changes hands upfront.
- Flat nightly fee — commonly £10–£35 per dog per night, sometimes covering a welcome pack (bed, bowls, treats).
- Fee waived above a threshold stay — some properties drop the fee for stays of 3+ nights or for loyalty-programme members.
The nightly-fee model is the one most likely to catch large-dog owners out, because per-night fees are sometimes scaled to dog size even when the headline marketing says “dogs stay free.”
Pet Care Tip: Ask specifically: “Is there any charge — fee or deposit — for a dog over [your dog’s weight] kg?” Generic questions like “are you pet friendly?” almost always get a yes, regardless of the fine print.
UK Hotels Where Large Dogs Can Stay Without a Pet Fee
The table below lists specific UK properties named in the sources checked for this guide, with the large-dog limit, fee, deposit, and dog-free areas as reported by each source. “Not stated” means the source didn’t publish that detail — not that no policy exists. Every figure here needs re-confirming directly with the hotel before you rely on it. Pet policy is set at property level, changes often, and none of these entries have been independently verified with the hotels themselves for this article.
|
Hotel |
Location |
Large-dog limit (as reported) |
Pet fee |
Deposit |
Dog-free areas |
Source |
Checked |
|
Ace Hotel Shoreditch |
London |
Not stated |
£0 — fee reportedly scrapped |
Not stated |
Not stated |
Time Out London |
Sept 2026 |
|
Aloft London Excel |
London |
Up to 18kg |
£0 — no surcharge reported |
Not stated |
Not stated |
Time Out London |
Sept 2026 |
|
B+B Belgravia |
London |
Not stated (more than one dog allowed) |
Not stated |
£50, refundable |
Not stated |
Time Out London |
Sept 2026 |
|
Novotel (London property) |
London |
Not stated |
£10/night |
Not stated |
Bars, restaurants |
Time Out London |
Sept 2026 |
|
St Pancras Renaissance |
London |
Up to 10kg — below this guide’s “large” bracket |
£50 |
Not stated |
Not stated |
Time Out London |
Sept 2026 |
|
Cliveden House |
Berkshire |
Up to two dogs per room; size not stated |
£35/dog/night |
Not stated |
Spa, restaurant |
The Hotel Guru |
Sept 2026 |
|
The Grove |
Hertfordshire |
Under 30kg |
Not stated |
Not stated |
Not stated |
The Hotel Guru |
Sept 2026 |
|
The Balmoral |
Edinburgh |
Under ~9kg/20lbs — below this guide’s “large” bracket |
Not stated |
Not stated |
Not stated |
Hotelgift |
Sept 2026 |
|
Pen-y-Gwryd Hotel |
Snowdonia, Wales |
Not stated |
£5/day |
Not stated |
Not stated |
A Lady of Leisure |
Sept 2026 |
|
Kimpton Charlotte Square Hotel |
Edinburgh |
Up to ~35kg/77lbs |
Not stated |
Not stated |
Not stated |
BringFido |
Sept 2026 |
|
Grovefield House Hotel by Uno |
Buckinghamshire |
Not stated |
£10/pet/night |
Not stated |
Not stated |
BringFido |
Sept 2026 |
What this table actually shows: very few of the properties with published data combine a stated large-dog weight allowance with a confirmed £0 fee. Aloft London Excel (18kg, £0 reported) is the closest match found. Kimpton Charlotte Square publishes a generous 35kg limit but no fee figure to confirm it’s free.
Ace Hotel Shoreditch has reportedly scrapped its fee but doesn’t publish a weight limit either way. That gap is itself a useful finding: readers specifically chasing “large dog plus zero fee” should expect to call ahead to regional independent hotels and pubs-with-rooms rather than rely on any single published list — this one included.
Beyond these named examples, three broader patterns held up across the sources reviewed, though none is a guarantee at any specific property:
- Pub-with-rooms and coaching inns were the most consistently fee-free category for dogs of any size, often because the pub itself already allows dogs downstairs.
- Countryside and coastal hotels marketed around walking holidays (Lake District, Yorkshire, Devon, Wales, Scotland) more often waived fees entirely in the sources reviewed, since dog owners are their core audience rather than an add-on market.
- Loyalty-tier waivers — a few larger chains reportedly drop the pet fee for members of their top loyalty tier, worth checking if you already hold hotel points.
Because individual hotel policies change often — and are usually set at property level even within a chain — treat this table and this guide as a starting point, and always verify current terms directly with the property before booking.
Dog-Free Areas and House Rules to Expect
Even the most generous no-fee policy comes with boundaries. Across nearly every UK hotel reviewed for this guide, three restrictions were near-universal:
- Dogs are not permitted in restaurants, bars, or spa areas (some make exceptions for outdoor terraces).
- Dogs must not be left unattended in the room, or must be crated if they are.
- Dogs are not allowed on beds or soft furnishings unless the room comes with a designated “dog bed” or throw.
Large dogs sometimes face an additional practical rule: being assigned ground-floor or garden-facing rooms rather than upper floors, particularly in older buildings without lifts.
Number of Dogs, Age Requirements, and Behaviour Policies
Most properties cap bookings at one or two dogs per room without extra approval; beyond that, you’ll typically need to call ahead. Age requirements are inconsistently published — where they do exist, “one year or older” is the most common minimum, aimed at excluding untrained puppies rather than penalising large breeds specifically.
Behaviour expectations are rarely written down in detail but are consistently enforced in practice: dogs are expected to be house-trained, non-aggressive around other guests and dogs, and quiet enough not to disturb neighbouring rooms. Hotels reserve the right to charge for excessive noise complaints or damage even under a “no fee” policy — the fee waiver covers the pet’s presence, not its behaviour.
Pet Care Tip: If your large dog is reactive to strangers or other dogs, request a room near a side entrance or stairwell rather than the main lobby route — most hotels will accommodate this if you ask at booking rather than at check-in.
Cleaning Charges, Deposits, and Cancellation Policies
This is the least transparent part of UK hotel pet policy, and none of the sources checked for this guide published a full breakdown:
- Cleaning charges for excessive shedding, odour, or accidents appear, based on the properties reviewed, to be reserved for genuinely damaged rooms rather than routine dog hair — but the threshold is set by housekeeping case-by-case, not a published rate card.
- Damage deposits, where charged (see B+B Belgravia’s £50 example above), are typically pre-authorised on a card and returned if no issues are found. None of the sources checked stated an exact release timeframe, so ask the property directly rather than assuming a standard window.
- Cancellation policies for pet bookings appeared, in the properties reviewed, to generally mirror the hotel’s standard room cancellation policy — always confirm this in writing, since a small number of properties tie non-refundable rates to dog bookings specifically to discourage last-minute cancellations.
Practical Examples
Aloft London Excel — the closest match to “large dog, no fee” found in this research: no surcharge reported for the bed and treats provided, and dogs up to 18kg are explicitly accepted — just at the lower edge of the “large” bracket used in this guide. A reminder that even a genuinely free policy can carry an unstated weight ceiling worth checking before booking a bigger breed.
Ace Hotel Shoreditch — fee scrapped, weight limit unpublished: Time Out reports the hotel previously charged £25 and has since dropped it, with no published weight limit either way. A large-dog owner should call ahead to confirm the change applies regardless of size, rather than assuming it from the fee removal alone.
B+B Belgravia — deposit, not fee: no flat pet fee reported, but a £50 refundable deposit, with more than one dog allowed. A real-world illustration of “no fee” not meaning “no money changes hands” — the deposit is only returned if there’s no damage.
Common Mistakes When Booking With a Large Dog
- Trusting the word “pet-friendly” alone — it says nothing about fees, weight limits, or deposits.
- Not disclosing your dog’s actual weight — arriving with a 35kg dog after describing it as “medium” risks a room reassignment or fee at check-in.
- Assuming no-fee means no rules — deposits for damage can still apply even when there’s no flat pet fee.
- Booking a top-floor or lift-only room without checking accessibility for a large or anxious dog.
- Skipping the pre-arrival call — email confirmations get lost; a phone call the day before travel catches last-minute policy exceptions.
Editor’s Insights
- Properties that publish a specific weight limit (rather than vague “large dogs welcome” language) generally read as more reliable, because it signals the policy has actually been thought through operationally.
- Loyalty programme tiers are an underused lever for waiving pet fees — worth checking before assuming a fee is fixed.
- Independent country hotels with a dedicated “dog-friendly” page (rather than a single mention among general amenities) tended to have clearer, more specific policies among the properties reviewed for this guide.
- If a hotel’s website doesn’t mention a maximum number of dogs, assume two is the practical ceiling and confirm before booking three or more.
Decision Framework: Is This Hotel Right for Your Large Dog?
- Does the property state a weight limit, and does your dog fall comfortably under it?
- Is the “no fee” claim a true waiver, or a refundable deposit in disguise?
- Are dog-free areas (restaurant, spa) workable for your trip, or do you need somewhere with a dog-friendly dining option?
- Is the room type (ground floor, garden access) suitable for a large or anxious dog?
- Have you confirmed the policy directly with the property within the last few weeks, given how often these terms change?
No-Fee vs Fee-Charging Hotels: Quick Comparison
|
Policy Type |
Typical Cost |
Weight Limit Common? |
Best For |
|
Genuinely free |
£0 |
Rarely stated |
Owners prioritising cost certainty |
|
Refundable deposit |
£25–£50 (returned) |
Sometimes |
Well-behaved dogs, short stays |
|
Flat nightly fee |
£10–£35/night |
Occasionally |
Hotels bundling a welcome pack |
|
Fee waived on loyalty tier |
£0 (members only) |
Chain-dependent |
Existing hotel loyalty members |
Pre-Booking Checklist
- Confirmed weight limit (if any) in writing
- Confirmed whether “no fee” means no deposit, or deposit-only
- Asked about maximum number of dogs per room
- Checked which areas of the hotel are dog-free
- Confirmed cancellation terms for the specific rate booked
- Requested a ground-floor or accessible room if needed
Travel Day Packing Checklist
- Proof of vaccination/vet contact details
- Portable water and food bowls
- Familiar bed or blanket to reduce anxiety in a new room
- Lead, harness, and a spare in case one is misplaced
- Waste bags and a portable stain-remover for accidents
- Recent photo of your dog on your phone, in case of separation
FAQ
Do UK hotels really let large dogs stay for free?
Some do — see the source-checked table above for specific examples — but “free” more often means no nightly fee rather than no conditions at all. Deposits and weight caps are common even where the fee itself is £0.
What’s considered a “large dog” for hotel policies?
There’s no official industry standard. For planning purposes, this guide treats roughly 18–30kg as the large-dog bracket, based on where most properties with a published weight limit set their cutoff — always check the specific hotel’s own figure.
Will I be charged if my dog sheds or has an accident?
Possibly, but the properties reviewed suggest this is reserved for damage beyond normal wear rather than routine shedding — the exact threshold is judged case-by-case by housekeeping, not a fixed published rate.
Can I bring more than one large dog?
Often yes, up to two (B+B Belgravia, for example, allows more than one), but always confirm — many hotels cap total pets per room without a call ahead.
Are certain breeds excluded even if size is fine? Not commonly stated in the properties reviewed for this guide, but very few UK hotels publish a breed policy in writing at all — ask directly rather than assuming none exists.
Do dog-friendly hotels allow dogs in the restaurant? Usually not — Novotel and Cliveden House, for example, exclude dogs from bars/restaurants and the spa/restaurant respectively — though some hotels allow dogs in bar areas or outdoor terraces even when the main restaurant is off-limits.
Is a refundable deposit the same as a pet fee? No — a fee is generally non-refundable and pays for the pet’s stay; a deposit (like B+B Belgravia’s £50) is returned if there’s no damage, so it can functionally cost nothing if your dog behaves.
How far in advance should I confirm a hotel’s pet policy? Ideally at booking, and again by phone 24–48 hours before arrival, since property-level policies can change and none of the figures in this guide are guaranteed current.
Sources & References
Property-specific facts (fees, deposits, weight limits) are attributed individually in the comparison table under “UK Hotels Where Large Dogs Can Stay Without a Pet Fee,” each with its own source and date checked. The general pattern-level observations elsewhere in this guide (dog-free areas being common, typical age minimums, and similar) draw on the sites below collectively rather than one specific claim each:
- Cool Places — Dog Friendly Hotels in the UK
- BringFido — Pet Friendly Hotels in the United Kingdom, London, and Manchester
- Time Out London — The Best Pet-Friendly Hotels in London
- PetsPyjamas — Dog-Friendly Hotels
- Hotelgift — All You Need To Know About Dog Friendly Hotels in the UK
- The Hotel Guru — Dog Friendly Hotels in the UK: The Ultimate Guide (2025)
- A Lady of Leisure — Best Dog Friendly Hotels in the UK
- TravelAwaits — 11 Hotels Where Dogs Stay Free
Note: individual hotel fees, deposits, and weight limits change frequently and are set at property level even within chains. None of the specific figures in this guide have been independently confirmed directly with the hotels themselves. Readers — and the editorial team before publishing — should verify current terms directly with each named property. [VERIFY] every specific figure against the hotel’s own current policy page prior to publishing.
Written and reviewed by the Pets Store Home editorial team. This article is for general planning purposes and is not a substitute for a hotel’s official policy — always confirm pet terms directly with the property before booking. Last reviewed: September 2026.
Conclusion
Finding a UK hotel that truly welcomes large dogs at no cost comes down to asking the right questions rather than trusting the phrase “pet-friendly” on its own. Weight limits, deposits dressed up as fees, and unwritten behaviour expectations are where most large-dog owners get caught out — not the booking process itself.
Confirm the policy type, your dog’s exact weight, and the house rules before you travel, and a genuinely fee-free stay is very achievable across the UK’s country hotels, pubs-with-rooms, and a growing list of chain properties. If you’ve found a hotel that handled your large dog especially well (or badly), it’s worth sharing in the comments to help other owners plan with confidence.
[…] Which foreign pets are legal in Washington State? […]